top of page


Offentlig·11 medlemmar

The Unforgiving: How Within Temptation Created a Comic Book Series Based on Their Album

The band's fifth studio album, The Unforgiving, was released in March 2011 and was one part of a transmedia effort, alongside both a comic book series and a series of short films that together encompass a story. The album saw the band increasingly venturing on new musical territories outside symphonic metal. Their sixth studio album, Hydra, was released in early 2014 in Japan, Europe, and the United States. The album advanced the band's exploration of new musical genres and features guest appearances from various artists: Finnish singer Tarja Turunen, who appears in the lead single "Paradise (What About Us?)"; Howard Jones, former vocalist of American metalcore band Killswitch Engage; Dave Pirner, lead vocalist of American alternative rock band Soul Asylum; and American rapper Xzibit. The band had extensive airplay on BBC Radio 2 in the United Kingdom with one of the songs from the album, "Whole World Is Watching" featuring Pirner.

Within Temptation The Unforgiving Comic Book Download

Within Temptation collaborated with Beyond Comics on a comic book adaptation of their latest album, The Unforgiving, and the first issue (written by Steven O'Connel and drawn by Romano Molenaar) made its premiere at the Baltimore Comic-Con this past August.

Within Temptation is a Dutch symphonic metal band formed in 1996 in Waddinxveen, Netherlands. The group consists of Sharon den Adel (vocals), Robert Westerholt (guitars), Jeroen Van Veen (bass), Martijn Spierenburg (keyboards), Ruud Adrianus Jolie (guitars) and Mike Coolen (drums). Despite being labeled by the media as a gothic metal band, Within Temptation consider themselves "more a symphonic rock/metal band ... we are... no gothic band". In 1996 the vocalist Sharon den Adel and guitarist Robert Westerholt founded Within Temptation. After the release of their first album Enter in 1997, the band became prominent in the Dutch underground scene, playing their fourth gig at the legendary Dynamo Festival. In 1998, they followed up with an EP, The Dance, and progressed to the main stage at Dynamo. It was not until 2001 that they became known to the general public, with the single "Ice Queen" from the album Mother Earth, which reached #2 on the Dutch charts. Since then, the band has enjoyed success throughout Europe, winning the Conamus Exportprijs four years in a row as well as several Edison Awards. Their next albums The Silent Force and The Heart of Everything debuted at #1 on the Dutch charts. In 2008, the band played to a sold-out Ahoy with the Metrople Orchestra and the Pa'dam Choir. This concert was released on the Black Symphony live DVD/CD. In 2009, the band released An Acoustic Night at the Theatre, which featured live tracks from their successful acoustic theatre tour. The album also contains the single "Utopia", a duet with English vocalist Chris Jones. After a short hiatus, the band returned in 2011 with The Unforgiving, a concept album. The album was released on March 29 and debuted at #2 on the Dutch charts. In addition to the album, the band are releasing a forthcoming comic book series and several short films. The first short film, "Mother Maiden", was released on January 31, and the second, "SinÃad", was released on March 21. Two issues of the six comic books have also been released. Former members: - Ivar de Graaf (Drums) - Martijn Westerholt (Keyboards) - Michiel Papenhove (Guitar) - Jelle Bakker (Guitars) - Ciro Palma (Drums) - Dennis Leeflang (Drums) - Richard Willemse (Drums) - Stephen van Haestregt (Drums) Official site: User-contributed text is available under the Creative Commons By-SA License and may also be available under the GNU FDL.

0 copiesAlbum DescriptionAvailable in: The Unforgiving is the fifth studio album by Dutch symphonic band Within Temptation, released by Roadrunner Records from 25 March 2011. The album is released alongside a comic book series and a series of short films, to encompass a concept story. The first single, "Faster", was released on 21 January the first short film, Mother Maiden, was released on January 31, the second short film, Sinéad was released on 21 March and the second single with the same name was released on 15 July. The first issue of the comic books, Penance, Part One, was released on 18 March and will be digitally released by Diamond Digital at the New York Comic Con on 22 October. The second issue, Penance, Part Two was released on 13 May, Penance, Part Three on 31 August and Penance, Part Four on 2 November. As of November 2012, the album reportedly sold 313,790 copies exclusively on the iTunes merch website. User Album ReviewNone...External Album ReviewsNone... User Comments No comments yet... Status unlocked


Välkommen till gruppen! Här kan du få kontakt med andra fans...
Gruppsida: Groups_SingleGroup
bottom of page